Things I Love Right Now: My Essentials for a Cozy Night In

There are a lot of really great outdoorsy reasons to love fall; the crisp air, the colorful leaves, and the amazing way a cup of coffee feels between your hands on a chilly afternoon. But I also love the way fall makes your home feel on the inside. The changing temperatures and scenery outside have a way of making everything feel so much cozier inside.

For me, fall is a welcome change of pace. I enjoy quiet nights at home, savoring all that this season has to offer. Today, I’ve put together a list of a few of my “essentials” for a cozy night at home. Enjoy.

**Please note: None of these links are for affiliates or sponsors. I’m simply sharing a few tried and true products that I love. I’m in no way compensated for doing so :-).

A warm beverage

Things I Love Right Now: My Essentials for a Cozy Night In

As much as I love coffee, I haven’t been able to drink it in the evenings this pregnancy (sad face). And while I love the idea of hot cider, it is in fact, not my favorite. I will enjoy one or two mug fulls the whole fall season and that will be plenty for me.

I do, however, enjoy a good cup of tea. One of my favorites is rooibos (red) vanilla tea. Rooibos is naturally decaffeinated. In fact, true tea fanatics will tell you that rooibos tea isn’t actually a tea at all, as it is made from an herb. I enjoy it for it’s taste, but it has many similar health benefits to that of green tea, all while being naturally caffeine free! I find that the rooibos-vanilla combination is just wonderfully smooth and yummy.

A fresh scent

Things I Love Right Now: My Essentials for a Cozy Night In

As much as I would love to spring for this candle, for now, I think I’ll stick with stove top room fresheners like the ones found here (how amazing does the winter freshener and the fragrant slow cooker ones sound???).

A good flick

Things I Love Right Now: My Essentials for a Cozy Night In Things I Love Right Now: My Essentials for a Cozy Night In

It’s October, and while I’m not into modern horror movies (correction, I loathe them), I do love some of the classic thrillers. One movie that is at the top of my “favorites” list is Gaslight. In this 1944 thriller with Ingrid Bergman, the audience (and Bergman’s character) has to figure out if her husband is trying to kill her, or if she is simply going insane. It’s so good.

A “newer” but just-as-good version of Gaslight is Midnight Lace. Fans of Doris Day and Rex Harrison will love seeing these two in very unusual roles. No singing and dancing or romance here. Nothing but is-he-trying-to-kill-me thrills! (Day still wears really fabulous clothes, though. 😉 )

A good book

Things I Love Right Now: My Essentials for a Cozy Night In

I just finished “The Strangler Vine” by M.J. Carter. I think this is a book that would appeal to both men and women. It’s a historical fiction novel that takes place in nineteenth-century colonial India. This book is full of intrigue and adventure, and an exotic setting with everything from tigers to bandits, and ancient Indian culture.

A good snack

Things I Love Right Now: My Essentials for a Cozy Night In

I used this recipe for the roasted pumpkin seeds I made the other night and they turned out delicious. The recipe calls for boiling the washed seeds before you bake them, as this makes them easier to digest. Who knew?

If, however, roasting pumpkin seeds sounds like a bit too much work (I’m with ya!), then I would suggest another nutritious yet tasty alternative – roasted chickpeas. I love em! Don’t make that weird face, you’ve really got to try these. I know it sounds weird, but they are actually really good. Plus, they are a low fat, high protein snack.

I was first introduced to this snack in college. My Shakespeare professor would occasionally bring in snacks and one day she brought in these roasted chickpeas. We were all pretty skeptical, but seeing as we were also broke, starving, college students, we all gave them a try. She took home an empty container that day.

You can season these puppies any way you like. I love them with some garlic salt and cayenne pepper. Or, if you like cooking with nutritional yeast, that is also a yummy way to go. You can’t mess em up.

The perfect cardi

Things I Love Right Now: My Essentials for a Cozy Night In

Nothing spells relaxation better than c-a-r-d-i. I love this cardi because it looks great to wear out, but is also super comfortable with a pair of leggings for a night in. I bought it on clearance last year at the beginning of summer and, at the time, I couldn’t believe I was buying a sweater after months of nothing but sweater-wearing weather. However, I’m so glad I did. My heavy, draped cardi has been wonderful to have as the weather turns colder and my baby bump gets bigger. You can find a similar one to mine here, at H&M.

A great bath product

Things I Love Right Now: My Essentials for a Cozy Night In

Things I Love Right Now: My Essentials for a Cozy Night In

I love soaking in a tub with a good book and a great bath bomb or bubble bath. It can be hard to find natural, non-toxic bath products, though. For my kids, I like to buy Shea Moistures “Calm & Comfort” wash & shampoo. It has frankincense and myrrh in it and smells heavenly. You can find it at Target.

For me, I like to use a combination of Epsom Salts and something else. My friend recently bought me a set of bath bombs for my birthday and they add all kinds of great herbs and oils to the tub. You can read more on how to make your own homemade lavender bath bombs, here.

An evening walk

Things I Love Right Now: My Essentials for a Cozy Night In

A highlight to our relaxing nights in is that it usually allows time for a brisk walk outside. Normally, when we are running here and there, we don’t get to just enjoy the scenery, you know? There is nothing like an evening stroll to just soak up all the fall goodness.

Last night, we drove a few towns over to enjoy our walk in a new location. This town was full of historic charm which was only exaggerated by the fall foliage.

It was fun to bundle up and walk down sidewalks coated with leaves that crunched under foot. We stopped to look at all the fun seasonal decorations, and enjoyed the feel of the cool, fall evening on our skin. And of course, there is nothing like a walk in the chilly outdoors to make returning home, all the more cozy.

2 thoughts on “Things I Love Right Now: My Essentials for a Cozy Night In

  1. My favorite film noir-type “thriller” is Notorious with Cary Grant and Ingrid Bergman. Claude Rains is so good in that one too, but I already love him from Casablanca. 🙂 That’s as scary of a movie as I can handle.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s